Vegan Food

Is Microbial Rennet Vegan? [Quick Answer] 2023

Microbial rennet is a chief element of bakery items. It is a special ingredient in cheese-making procedures. It is a process in which milk is converted into curd by coagulating it.

Is Microbial Rennet Vegan

Microbial rennet comes from molds that can make an enzyme that helps coagulate milk. It’s considered suitable for vegetarians. However, sometimes it can cause a bit of a bitter taste, especially in cheeses that are aged.

Is Microbial Rennet Vegan?

It is appropriate to say that microbial rennet is vegan. This is because of the procedure of its formation. Rennet is formed by different mechanisms. It can be of animal, plant, or synthetic origin. However, if the rennet is formed by microbial procedure then it is right to say that it is purely vegetarian.

What is Microbial Rennet Made of?

Microbial rennet is formed by a different process other than that which is formed by using plant or animal origin. Chymosin is the enzyme that is present in the lining of the gut(stomach) of different animals for example, ewe, calf, and baby goat. Chymosin is also known as renin. This enzyme makes renin a non-vegetarian product. However, if certain changes or modifications are done, we can make Rennet a vegetarian product.

This is done by an enzyme produced with the help of fermentation of a fungi, named Rhizomucor miehei. This specie of fungi has been used on commercial levels for the conversion of milk into curd. It acts as a coagulant agent. A mold or yeast can also be used for this purpose but nowadays rhizomucor miehei is giving a good yield along with a lot of benefits and fewer complications. Therefore it is being prioritized.

Benefits of Microbial Rennet

The most useful benefit of microbial rennet is that it is highly economical as compared to other rennet. Traditional rennet, Thistle rennet, or plant rennet is much more expensive than microbial rennet.

The preparation of microbial rennet is more significant and less in cost than that of other rennet. This is the reason microbial rennet is being preferred by different cheese-making factories.

The second important advantage of using microbial rennet is its shelf life. Almost, all kinds of rennet can be stored for up to two or three months but not more than that. But microbial rennet can be used approximately for twenty-four months. This shelf life allows it to be used and stored easily.

The other benefit is that it can be used by vegetarians as well. This is a profitable deal for the vegetarian community.  As the microbial rennet is not manufactured by using an animal source, it can be easily consumed by the vegetarian population.

Moreover, it is labeled as an organic product. Being organic means that it is made of original ingredients. There is no addition of synthetic oil, serums, or anything in it.

One other issue people face while traveling is the presence of a halal tag on cheese. Mostly vegetarian rennet is halal as it is not formed from the animal source. Some non-vegetarian rent can be halal too if it is formed by any animal source other than the pig.

The cheese having microbial rennet is being sold with Kosher certification. Which is evidence of pure and clean manufacturing.

The microbial rennet doesn’t contain proteins to provide energy or simply it is not a healthy product but the good part is that it does not contain any fats in it. On the whole, it has no nutritional value.

See Also:

What is E124 and Is It Vegan? | Quick Answer 2023

What Is Vegetarian Rennet?

Rennet is of different types. The most common rennet are

Animal Rennet

Animal rennet is the basic form. In this procedure, the enzyme chymosin is extracted from animals such as unweaned calves, baby goats, and ewes. Ruminant animals are mostly used for this purpose.

Microbial Rennet

Microbial Rennet is a modification. It was formed for the vegetarian community. In this technique, enzymes similar in the functioning of chymosin are extracted from molds in labs.

Plant Rennet

Plant Rennet has the same functioning as the enzyme chymosin. Plants have different series of enzymes that can be used for this purpose. Artichokes, Cardoon thistles, and nettles are used for this purpose. This technique got famous in Portugal and Spain.

How to Know if Cheese Is Made With Vegetarian Rennet?

The description of the packaging of the container has made this query very easy. It is very easy to know whether the cheese contains vegetarian rennet or any other rennet. This can be done by observing the ingredient list on the back side of the package. The ingredient must have enzymes or rennet mentioned in it. If it’s not written then it means any other rennet is being used in that cheese.

Is Cheese Always Vegetarian?

Not at all, cheese is of different kinds. It depends upon the origin of the source from which it is being made. Most cheese prepared from animal sources is not vegetarian. And it is being avoided by the vegetarian population. So this all depends if the cheese is formed by the use of microbial rennet, it is vegetarian.

 Mostly Paneer and Cottage Cheese, one of the best-selling cheeses all over the world are pure vegetarian cheeses and are popular among the communities where vegetarians live. Whereas many kinds of cheese are non-vegetarian. This includes parmesan, pecorino, gruyere, romano, manchego, and camembert.

You may also like:

Is Root Beer Vegan? [A&W, Barq’s, Virgil’s & More]

How Does Rennet Work?

Rennet is a very important ingredient in cheese-making factories. The chief purpose of rennets is to convert the milk into curd at different degrees. It can b soft, mild, or hard that undergo coagulation, thickening, and hardening. Rennet helps to make this process efficacious.

An enzyme named chymosin or casein that is present in the milk in the gut lining of different animals is obtained. Rennet causes changes in the structure of casein. As a result of which, casein is divided into different particles then it is coagulated. This results in clump formation. This process is repeated again and again. So that large clumps are formed every time. A liquid part comes on the top, which is actively removed by a person. This results in the attainment of the architecture of cheese.  The basic step is coagulation. In some preparations, where rennet is not being used, such as in soft cheese just like cream cheese coagulation is done by acid. Citric acid, FCP rennet, lactic acid, and vinegar can be used for this purpose.

Learn How to Think About Ingredients Like Microbial Rennet​.

Whenever we saw cheese, the only ingredient that we know about it is milk but in actuality, it is made up of different ingredients proceeding at specific temperatures and then we get the soft and elastic cheese texture we want.

Three main ingredients make up a rennet. And they are so simple and easily available. Milk, salt, and culture of mold or maybe bacteria from the source. And the source can be a plant, animal, or microbe.

FAQs About Microbial Rennet

Can Vegans Eat Microbial Rennet?

Yes, microbial rennet is specially made for the vegetarian population.

Is Microbial Rennet Animal Based?

No, microbial rennet is not animal-based.

What is Microbial Rennet Halal?

Yes, it is halal with Kosher certification.

 Is Microbial Rennet Bad For You

No, it has no bad impact on health.

Is Microbial Rennet Healthy

Microbial Rennet has no nutritional value. It doesn’t contain any carbohydrates, proteins, and fats. Moreover, it doesn’t contain any vitamins or minerals.

Have a look this:

Is Sudafed Vegan? [Dairy, Gluten Free, & More]

Top 10 Nutrient-Rich Foods Every Vegan Should Be Eating

Nutritional Benefits of a Vegan Diet: What You Need to Know

AboutTim Baker

"I'm Tim Baker, a food enthusiast and writer. As a former chef, I enjoy exploring new flavors and recipes from around the world. My goal is to share easy-to-follow recipes, helpful tips, and inspiring stories to enhance your culinary journey. Join me on this delicious adventure!"

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *